Tiger Cubs

When a boy is in the first grade or 7 years old, he can join the Cub Scouts. The first rank the Cub Scout earns is the Tiger Cub. The Tiger Cub scout program is an introduction into the world of scouting. To earn the rank of Tiger Cub, the young scouts go places and do things under the close supervision of adults. Tiger Cubs experience many things designed to spark inquisitive thinking. The skills learned as a Tiger Cub will become the foundation for everything else they learn while in scouting. 

Tiger Cubs work on projects and other things with their parents, guardians, brothers, sisters and friends. They also meet once a week with their Den. During the Den meetings, they discuss their projects, play games, go places and do other fun things with their adult leaders and partners. 

The Tiger Cub program starts and ends with the school year. By the end of the school year, the Tiger Cub should have completed all the requirements for that rank. The next year the Tiger Cub can advance to the rank of Wolf.

The Tiger rank is earned by completing seven adventures as described below. Although participation with an adult partner is required for all Tiger awards, recognition items are for the Scouts only. 

  1. Complete each of the six required adventures:
    • Games Tigers Play
    • My Tiger Jungle
    • Team Tiger
    • Tiger Bites
    • Tiger Circles: Duty to God
    • Tigers in the Wild 
  2. In addition to the six required adventures, complete at least one elective adventure of your den’s or family’s choosing. 
  3. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet entitled How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide. 
  4. Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.) OR Earn the Protect Yourself Rules Preview Adventure for Tiger.

Become part of Our Pack!